Skip to content
Free.

GitHub Copilot Free

GitHub · Forever free · checked Sep 24, 2026

What you get
AI credit allowance
Credits
None stated
Lasts
No end date
Card needed
Not stated
Usage
An allowance of GitHub AI Credits
Models
Auto model selection only
Agents
Limited
Includes
Copilot CLI and Copilot app
Copilot Free: Free. An allowance of GitHub AI Credits. Agents: Limited. Models: Auto model selection only.
From docs.github.com , checked Sep 24, 2026.

Offers change often; the vendor's page is the final word. Links go straight to the vendor, no affiliate links.

History

DateChange
Changed

2,000 code completions and 50 chat messages a month to An allowance of GitHub AI Credits, auto model selection only

Seen on GitHub's Copilot plans page on this date; the page does not date the switch.

Source
Launched

2,000 code completions and 50 chat messages a month

GitHub Copilot Free launched, built into VS Code for any personal GitHub account.

Source

More from GitHub

OfferSign up
GitHub Student Developer Pack
Copilot, Codespaces, Azure
StudentCard not stated

Other dev tools offers

All dev tools
OfferSign up
dbt Developer plan
dbt Labs
3,000 models a month
Forever freeCard not stated

Free tier changes by email

Thursdays: free tiers, trials and credits that changed, only in weeks with a change.

Double opt-in. Unsubscribe any time.